The Pusher Online Shop The Pusher Online Shop

V/A - Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 (CD)

Be the first to leave a review about this product

What started as an idea 5 years ago now becomes reality with the release of SAIGON SUPERSOUND Vol.1, a compilation about the story of a musical era in Vietnam that was almost lost. Find out more

15,99 €

In stock

Description « V/A - Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 (CD) »

What started as an idea 5 years ago now becomes reality with the release of SAIGON SUPERSOUND Vol.1, compiled by Jan Hagenkötter. A compilation about the story of a musical era in Vietnam that was almost lost, made of tracks from 1965 to 1975, the so-called “Golden Music” period in the south of Vietnam, where – under difficult circumstances – a lively pop culture had developed. This period is characterized by the fusion of Vietnamese music with western pop music. The compilation includes some tunes reissued for the very first time since they´ve been released originally. With the release of Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 on double gatefold vinyl and cd in May 2017 the story of this nearly unknown music will be reissued.

Jan Hagenkötter a music-lover and DJ who is also the mind behind the renowned music publishing company and record label INFRACom!, relocated to Saigon in 2012. In co-operation with the Vietnam based dOSe crew, Jan organized parties and shows, inviting guest and friends like DJ Spinna, Jazzanova, Alice Russell and many other artists. During this year as he was spinning tunes in Saigon and other parts of South East Asia the idea for this project was born. In 2013 Jan returned to Germany but has been swinging back and forth between Saigon and Frankfurt ever since.

In the following years he began to research and collect more seriously. He bought vinyl singles from around the world, often several copies of the same release, just to restore or rather “rebuild” one good recording from several sources. With the help of friends based in Saigon, he was able to navigate an almost impenetrable jungle of music websites. Thanks to invaluable support and translation assistance from Vietnamese friends, he came into contact with several collectors. The best recordings from this treasure hunt were then retouched, refined and remastered in the studio for this release.

Besides this amazing project, Vietnamese producers like Maqman from Saigon, DJ Yellow from Paris and others who also share roots in Vietnam have already started to work on edits and re-works of songs featured on Saigon Supersound Vol. 1. These will be released in a next step....the mission is not just started!



A1. Tình Ta Như Lửa Đơm Hoa - Carol Kim

A2. Sống Cho Nhau - Hùng Cường & Mai Lệ Huyền

A3. Mộng Về Quê - Duy Quang & Thái Hiền

A4. Nếu Mình Còn Yêu Nhau - Thanh Vũ

B1. Lý Luận Tình Yêu - Connie Kim

B2. Phố Đêm - Hòa tấu

B3. Mùa Xuân Gửi Em - Phượng Mai

B4. Diễm Xưa - Khánh Ly

B5. Căn Nhà Ngoại Ô - Kim Loan

C1. Đoàn Người Lữ Thứ - Thanh Thuý & Văn Thanh & Hoàng Liêm & Thanh Mai

C2. Đêm Cuối Cùng - Kiều Oanh

C3. Hát Mừng Xuân - Thanh Lan, Châu Hà & Thanh Mai

C4. Có Ai Trên Đời Mà Không Yêu - Mai Lệ Huyền

D1. Chọn Mặt Gửi Vàng - Vân Sơn & Thùy Dung

D2. Mùa Gặt Mới - Hoàng Oanh

D3. Tình Đêm Liên Hoan - Thanh Lan

D4. Vòng Tay Giữ Trọn Ân Tình - Phương Dung

D5. 7 câu vọng cổ chúc Tết - Ngọc Giàu

Reviews on product « V/A - Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 (CD) »

No comments have been posted for this product...

Post a comment

« V/A - Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 (CD) » We also offer ...

  • Secured Payment
    (Credit Card / Paypal)
  • Fast Shipping
    (Various choices of Shipping Method Worldwide)
See the See the items found Founded product No product was found icon-close
An error occurred, please try again later view products No product was found during the research News Promotion Sales Flash sale  € loading ending recherche
V/A - Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 (CD)